Collective Possibilities

collective possibilities header

Event Date

UC Conference Center

Tenth Annual UC Davis Equity Summit and Social Justice Awards

Join educators, community members and experts from a range of disciplines for this annual event that addresses the pertinent social issues of our time. The UC Davis Equity Summit coalesces people, ideas and institutions to deepen strategies, shape actions and create solutions. Connect with colleagues over dinner refreshments and music; be inspired by Social Justice Award winners; create an action plan through in-depth discussions; explore resources and book-signings with various award-winning authors at a curated pop-up book store.

Key Note Speaker: Dr. Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot

Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot is an author, educator, researcher, and public intellectual. She has pioneered an innovative social science method called "portraiture." written eleven books, serves on numerous scholarly and professional boards and committees, and has received 30 honorary degrees. a MacArthur prize-winning sociologist, she is the first African-American woman in Harvard University's history to have an endowed professorship named in her honor.  

Register by November 30 for early-bird pricing 
  • Students: $21
  • Individuals: $75
  • Team Table (nine people): $900

Registration now open

Presented by

The Office of Research and Policy for Equity 

Social Justice Award Nominations

We invite the public to nominate individuals for a social justice award by 5 p.m. on December 2, 2019. Nominees do not need to be associated with any specific institution or reside within California, but should meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Widely recognized as a transformative leader, scholar, activist, healer, educator, student and/or organizer
  • Made a significant contribution to equity and social justice, whether in policy, practice or pedagogy
  • Show evidence of socially responsible, ethical and outstanding community engagement, either in specific positions of responsibility or while involved in organizing activities
Nominations will be accepted within each of the following categories:
  • The Brandon Harrison Award for Youth Leadership and Youth Organizing: Awarded to young people (25 and under) who consistently and courageously demonstrate leadership, activism, organizing and self-determination for themselves and their communities.
  • Engaging Scholarship and Activism: Awarded to individuals who transcend borders between the community and the academy. For this individual, research is in service of social change. Their work is accessible to multiple stakeholders and they leverage knowledge to engage, educate, and empower.
  • Seeding Improvements in Education Policy and Practice: Awarded to individuals who understand systems and maneuver strategically as an ally and advocate for/with marginalized groups. By developing policies and practices based upon an equitable worldview, this person is an architect of the future.
  • Ubuntu Award for Inspiring Social Change: Awarded to individuals who typically work behind-the-scenes, doing the daily hard/heart-work of leaving this world better then they found it. This person is a warrior of love and justice and is unapologetic in their quest to improve the world.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award for Embodying Equity and Diversity: Awarded to individuals who are committed to social justice personally and professionally. They have transcended multiculturalism as a career and leveraged it into a grander service to humanity. This person is a courageous, visionary leader.

Event Category