four different faces next to each other: two women, a man, another woman
The fellowship recipients, all associate professors, from left: Diane Beckles, Colleen Bronner, Milmon F. Harrison and Margarita Jimenez-Silva.

Announcing UC Davis’ Inaugural Chancellor’s Fellowships for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

By Melissa Blouin on July 16, 2020

"Chancellor Gary S. May and the Davis Division of the Academic Senate have announced the inaugural recipients of the Chancellor’s Fellowships for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. The honored faculty members are:

  • Diane Beckles, Department of Plant Sciences
  • Colleen Bronner, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Milmon F. Harrison, Department of African American and African Studies
  • Margarita Jimenez-Silva, School of Education

The awards stem from Chancellor Gary S. May’s request to the Academic Senate’s Committee on Affirmative Action and Diversity, to develop a program recognizing faculty members’ exceptional efforts in diversity, equity and inclusion. According to the call for nominations distributed in January 2020, recipients must have demonstrated “an abiding commitment to reducing opportunity gaps for underrepresented students and/or students from underserved communities.”

'Faculty members are a critical component of our efforts to build a more diverse campus community,' the chancellor said. 'They provide that personal connection to ensure all our students are welcome here and know that they belong here.'

Kristin Lagattuta, senate chair, said of the 2019-20 fellows: 'They stand out for their extraordinary efforts in recruitment and retention, mentoring, inclusivity in the classroom, and commitment to social justice and equity.'"

Read the full story at UC Davis News

Primary Category